Oregon Women Judges ~ Quick Facts ~

NINTH CIRCUIT COURT OF APPEALS

The Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals was formed in 1869. Over 100 judges have served on the Court. Ten judges from Oregon have served on the Ninth Circuit.

Judge Susan Graber (Commission: 3/19/1998) is the only Oregon woman judge to serve on the Ninth Circuit.

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT for the DISTRICT OF OREGON

The United States District Court for the District of Oregon was created in 1859. Twenty-nine judges have served as District Court Judges for the United States District Court for the District of Oregon.

Three women have served:

Hon. Helen Frye (Commission: 2/20/1980)

Hon. Ann Aiken; Hon. Anna J. Brown

Approximately 18 people have served as Magistrates for the District Court for the District of Oregon.

Five women have served:

Hon. Janice Stewart (10/13/1993)

Hon. Patricia Sullivan; Hon. Stacie Beckerman; Hon. Youlee Yim You; Hon. Jolie A. Russo

UNITED STATES BANKRUPTCY COURT for the DISTRICT OF OREGON

Congress created the position of Bankruptcy Judge within each district in 1978. The Ninth Circuit appoints Bankruptcy Judges in Oregon.

Three women have served:

Hon. Polly S. Higdon (5/16/1983)

Hon. Elizabeth L. Perris; Hon. Trish Brown

OREGON SUPREME COURT

The Oregon Supreme Court was created in 1848 by Congress for the Oregon Territory. The court continued when Oregon became a state in 1859. 103 judges have served on the Oregon Supreme Court.

Six women have served: Hon. Betty Roberts (2/8/1982)

Hon. Susan P. Graber; Hon. Susan M. Leeson; Hon. Martha Lee Walters; Hon. Virginia Linder; Hon. Lynn Nakamoto

OREGON COURT OF APPEALS

The Oregon Legislature created the Oregon Court of Appeals in 1969. 50 judges have served on the Oregon Court of Appeals.

Twelve women have served:

Hon. Betty Roberts (9/1/1977)

Hon. Mary Deits; Hon. Susan Graber; Hon. Susan Leeson; Hon. Virginia Linder; Hon. Darleen Ortega; Hon. Ellen Rosenblum; Hon. Rebecca Duncan; Hon. Lynn Nakamoto; Hon. Erika L. Hadlock; Hon. Erin C. Lagesen; Hon. Meagan A. Flynn

OREGON TAX COURT

The Oregon Legislature created the Oregon Tax Court in 1962. It has a single elected judge who also appoints magistrates. There have been six tax judges, none have been women. Eight people have served as tax magistrates.

Four women have served:

Hon. Jill A. Tanner / Hon. Coyreen Weidner (9/4/1997)

Hon. Sally Kimsey; Hon. Allison Boomer

OREGON STATE TRIAL COURTS

Women have served as judges in 23 of the 27 Judicial Districts across the state.

Oregon's first woman judge was Mary J. Spurlin, who was appointed by Governor Pierce to the Multnomah County District Court in 1926. She lost a contested election in November 1926. In 1961, Governor Hatfield appointed Jean Lewis to the Multnomah County Circuit Court. Judge Lewis served until 1978.

As of the end of October 2016, 109 women have served in 142 judicial positions in Oregon state trial courts.

Oregon's first minority woman judge was Judge Mercedes
Deiz. Governor McCall appointed Judge Deiz to the
Multnomah County District Court in 1969. Judge Deiz won a
contested election to a Multnomah County Circuit Court in
1972. She served until she reached the state's mandatory
retirement age in 1992.